The inoculater strikes back

A sketch of my latest idea.
image

My wife has inspired me to give mycology a go. She has grown some impressive oyster mushrooms as well as nameko and shiitake.

image

image

Looks like a scene from another world.

Today I knocked together some Nameko mycelium and pasteurised straw. I’ll leave it for a while to enter the spawn run. At this stage the mycelium spreads through the substrate like a fine white fluff.

image

I wrapped them in freezer bags held relatively tight with elastic bands. In the end i didn’t go with the bottle top neck, I thought it a bit overkill.

image

Time will tell on the Nameko but I have high hopes for success 🙂

I’ll post an update in 4 weeks time, stay tuned.

Join me on Twitter for more photographic adventures

Leave a Reply

